25.2 C

Nigeria Senate Confirms Five INEC Commissioners

Must Read

Five nominations for the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) have been confirmed by the Senate.

Prof. Muhammad Sani Kallah (Katsina), Prof. Kunle Ajayi (Ekiti), Saidu Ahmad (Jigawa), Dr Baba Bila (North-East), and Prof. Abdullahi Zuru (North-West) were approved by the Upper House, but Lauretta Onochie, a close adviser to President Muhammadu Buhari, was rejected.

The confirmation of the candidates came after the plenary on Tuesday approved the report of the Committee on the Screening of INEC Nominees.

The Senate rejected Onochie’s candidacy for reasons that included a probable breach of the Federal Character Principle.

The Senate also postponed Prof. Sani Adam’s (North-Central) confirmation to allow for more legislative work.

- Advertisement -spot_img


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest News

Kurt Zouma: West Ham defender pleads guilty to kicking and slapping cat

West Ham United defender Kurt Zouma has pleaded guilty to kicking and slapping his pet cat in a video...
- Advertisement -spot_img

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -spot_img